Me And A Guy Named Elvis Book
Roll Over Image to Zoom

Me And A Guy Named Elvis Book

5 (8)   Write a Review
  • Add to Cart
An intimate memoir of a friendship with the greatest artist in rock-and-roll history. Jerry Shilling takes you from the all-night parties at Graceland to the bright lights of Hollywood to the glittering stages of Las Vegas.

Spanning Elvis's meteoric rise to his final, troubled years, this book offers never before-told stories about life inside Graceland's circle. Me and a Guy Named Elvis looks at Presley from a friend's perspective, offering readers the man rather than the icon - including insights into the creative frustrations that lead to Elvis's abuse of prescription medicine and his tragic death.

Jerry offers never–before–told stories about life inside Elvis's inner circle and an emotional recounting of the great times, hard times, and unique times he and Elvis shared. These vivid memories will be priceless to Elvis's millions of fans, and the compelling story will fascinate an even wider audience.

Printed in the USA Item #: EPAM0516
Average Customer Rating  (8) | Write a Review
Brittany (4/28/2015)
I absolutely loved this book. I have been a huge Elvis fan for years and there was so much in here that I didn't know. I loved the fact that Jerry's start as a fan and someone in awe of Elvis turned into a real deep friendship with Elvis. Someone who cared for him as a person, and not just for who he was as a public figure. To this day he seems to tell the truth, while still respecting the privacy of his friend. This book really shows the human side of Elvis and not just the larger than life figure. He had highs and lows in life just like anyone else. There's so much I could say, but I will just stick to saying that I really recommend reading this book if you are an Elvis fan and want to go past the image of the man that has fascinated people for so many years.
cortnie johnson (9/29/2007)
well i am reading this book and Jerry Schilling just captures Elvis 14 but i Love elvis...i really dont know wha to put but this is a wounderfull book so far it makes you whant to cry and laugh. well i love ya elvis R.I.P
Laurel (9/5/2007)
I am a very big Elvis fan and if you want to upset me say something negative about Elvis. I have read lots of books and I was very impressed with Jerry Schilling he told it as it is and did not have to add a nasty twist to his memories. I enjoyed the book very much and refer to it often when I need to check on something I have read in an other book, I trust him and would rather take his word for a situation rather than believe some one else. Well done Jerry, Elvis was lucky to have a good friend like you.
Bev (8/29/2007)
I met Jerry during Elvis week '07, at the Peabody. I had been looking for the book since my arrival and he sent me to Beale St. to find it. Since that day I have read it from cover to cover and all I can say is WOW! I knew it would be good but it just blew me away. So much detail and my goodness it must have been the time of your life! This is one book I will treasure always and definitely reread again. Jerry if you read this - thank you for signing my book even though the concierge got my and Peggy's name mixed up. You are a very kind man and Elvis would have approved of this book. I bet he would have said " Man, did we really do all that?" You're the best.
EddyB (7/19/2007)
I have to agree with the lady who wrote that this is a good book. I am in the process of finishing it up and like her I borrowed it from the library because as was stated earlier people write crap about someone after their gone usually, Jerry did not !! Worth the buy to have as a collectible, history lesson of Memphis and the times, and all around feel good book about "THE KING OF ROCK AND ROLL ".
Mary Jo (7/10/2007)
I was born loving Elvis and I have always been one of his adoring fans that thought he could do no wrong. That is why I refused to read any book, and we all know there are hundreds out there, about him for fear of the lies and horrible things that would be said about him. I just did not want to dignify the lies by paying my hard earned money for those books. I always said however, that if Jerry Schilling ever wrote a book about Elvis that I would be the first one in line to buy it! He did and I was, and it was wonderful! I knew that Jerry loved Elvis and would not write hateful lies about him after he was gone. "Me and a Guy Named Elvis" was so good, I read it twice. I know that Elvis would be so proud of this book and of Jerry. I highly reccomend it to anybody who is an Elvis fan!! Thank you Jerry for sharing your life with Elvis with his fans that loved him so much!
T. van Wijhe (3/26/2009)
In this book Jerry Schilling never forgets who this book is all about: Jerry Schilling. I mean that in a good way. This book is not another tiresome story of someone telling the reader what Elvis was like, and how close the teller was to Elvis. This book tells us the way things were in Memphis in the old days. In that respect the style resembles Guralnick's Last Train to Memphis. As the story progresses, Schilling doesn't run away from telling us about himself when he wasn't close to Elvis. He doesn't shy away from giving his opinion about people, sentiments toward relationships between people (and their colour), nor does he shy away giving his opinion on decisions Elvis made. The only thing that cost this book the 5th star, was the thinly applied icing on the cake that comes from Jerry desperately not trying to hurt Elvis (the person, the friend he had in him) and because of Jerry's involvement then and still to this day with the Elvis Industry. Does this make it a bad book? No, not at all. It's an enjoyable read.
Ineke (7/29/2007)
I have read JERRY his book and was very moved about it on the end I was in tears because I know that I was feeling the pain and hurt he was feeling that time. Later I read it for the second time and I can only say I never have seen a book so heartfull and tender and even he tell everything he want us to know its never that he forgot that Elvis was human just like you and I and he was a true friend and always will Thank you Jerry that you have give us your memories of Elvis